Phone: 1 (803) 435-8813  Fax: 1 (803) 435-4925

English Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Dutch French German Italian Spanish

Education (K-12)



Clarendon County has three public school districts. Clarendon District One serves the town of Summerton, Clarendon District Two serves Manning, and Clarendon District Three serves the Turbeville area. Combined, the three districts operate 14 schools.Students have access to outstanding teachers, state-of-the-art technology (including computer and Internet access in every classroom), and the resources and facilities to excel. All three districts have programs for exceptional children as well as Title I programs that allow for accelerated instruction. Many high school students in the 11th and 12th grades have opportunities to attend classes at the F.E. DuBose Career Center of Central Carolina Technical College. The courses provide these students with career counseling and workforce training for entry into the workplace after graduation. The DuBose Center currently offers 16 different courses for approximately 600 high school students in the workforce and career training program.


Clarendon County has two private schools:Founded in 1965 by the Summerton Baptist Church for the purpose of affording a superior elementary and secondary education in a non-denominational Christian environment, Clarendon Hall was originally known as Summerton Baptist Church School. In 2005, a new non-profit corporation was formed known as Clarendon Hall School, Inc.Laurence Manning Academy was founded in 1972 on the commitment to providing students in grades K3 through 12 with a high quality education within a safe, friendly, morally rich, and Christian environment.   LMA is located in the town of Manning and holds Advance Accreditation with the South Carolina Independent School Association.